I Think I’ve Found My Favourite Waffles Place!

Thanks to the recommendation of our friend Camy, who is a bona fide cafe guru, Keith and I went to Department of Caffeine one leisurely weekend for brunch (with Camy).

I’ve always had a nice memory of waffles, because it’s a weekend food that I ate frequently when I was a kid – at A&W. I can’t exactly remember whether A&W waffles were REALLY good, but I haven’t tried good waffles for the longest time. For instance, the waffles at Strangers’ Reunion didn’t impress.

We heard that waffles were a signature for Department of Caffeine, so we decided to go with it.

I went with a pretty safe choice of Buttermilk Waffles with butter rum bananas ($12.50) served with New Zealand Premium vanilla ice-cream.

Department-of-Caffeine-1 Department-of-Caffeine-2 Department-of-Caffeine-3

My order came first and as I took a bite into the waffles, I can’t stop telling Keith how much I liked it. It was very crispy, fragrant and the ice-cream was really – pardon the pun – icing on the cake.

I had my waffles with a glass of Apple, Ginger & Fresh Mint juice ($5.50), which was very refreshing.

Keith ordered the Apple Pie Waffles, which looked like a de-constructed apple pie that sits on top of crispy waffles.

Department-of-Caffeine-6 Department-of-Caffeine-5

And I enjoyed this thoroughly. I’ve always enjoyed apple pies but usually find them a bit too sweet. This was just right, and the buttery taste of the waffles balance out the sweetness of the fruits. The crumbles on top made it extra delicious.

Keith ordered the hot chocolate ($5) to go with his treat. It was one of the best hot chocolate I’ve tried too, and I would have gone for it, if not because I also had hot chocolate the night before at another cafe. Call me weird, but I simply refuse to have the same type of food/drink as I did within such a short time.

Department-of-Caffeine-4

Department of Caffeine is located at 15 Duxton Road. They’re closed every Wednesday, and are opened on weekdays from 10.30am to 7pm, and on weekends from 9.30am – 7pm. It’s one of the few cafes that opens so early on weekends, so if you want to start your day early on a weekend, this is where you can go. Get more info on their Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

