Review: Strangers Reunion

Over the long Hari Raya – National Day weekend, the girls and I decided to go chill out at a hipster cafe joint. Keith came along as our chauffeur and to help pay for my meal :p

strangers-reunion

Under LZ’s suggestion, we decided on going to Strangers’ Reunion. It’s located at Kampong Bahru, which incidentally is near St Teresa’s Church, where Keith and I are going to get married at next year.

It’s not exactly the easiest place to find. I think there is a bus-stop nearby, but it’s not one of those places that I would have visited if not because we travelled in a car.

The queue was quite long when we were there and we had to wait for around 20 minutes before we could get a table.

strangers' reunion

What I’ve heard about Strangers’ Reunion is that it serves awesome coffee. Everyone ordered one except me, because I can’t drink it (long story to be told another time). I ordered a cup of hot chocolate instead, and I find it rich and very gratifying.

I was told by my fine company that the coffee was pretty good. While the coffee art doesn’t look super impressive, but I guess what matters even more is that the drink tastes good, right?

stranger-reunion04

We were there for lunch, but y’know, you can always have breakfast-esque food anytime of the day – at least for me. (Side note: Is there really such a thing as “breakfast food” anyway? Who determines that you can only have eggs and toast in the morning?)

Here’s what we had.

Keith had this strange-looking (STRANGE, from STRANGERS’, geddit? OK, not funny.) dish called Baked Eggs in Shakshuka. It has this long, fascinating name that was a mouthful to pronounce and I guess he was being adventurous when he decided to order this over pancakes (which was what I thought he might have ordered).

strangers' reunion - Baked Eggs in Shakshuka with Salami, Goat’s Cheese, Dukkah & Toast

I stole a bit of it from his plate and found the taste very strange too. I wouldn’t say that it’s nasty, but just not something I’m very used to. He managed to finish most of it in the end, so I guess it should have tasted fine.

HH ordered toast. I guess it’s a dish that just can’t go wrong.

strangers' reunion toast

I had the Florentine, which is essentially like Eggs Royale (what I usually order for brunch) but with spinach. I wasn’t particularly wowed by it and have definitely tasted better Eggs Royale and Eggs Benedict – I don’t think the spinach makes any difference whatsoever. But don’t get me wrong – it was palatable. It’s just that I’ve became quite fussy about my Eggs Ben’s and its variants after faithfully ordering them at different cafes I’ve gone to.

strangers' reunion florentine

LZ ordered waffles because that’s what everyone seems to be having. It looks really pretty, but taste-wise, is what we say in Singlish, so-so only.

strangers' reunion - waffles

I couldn’t resist ordering a plate of truffle fries to share. These are topped with a generous amount of parmesan cheese. It’s probably the dish that I enjoyed most from this meal and it was super addictive – I just couldn’t stop taking another piece! I suspect it was the dip that made it really tasty. It’s a tad salty, though, so get your water ready.

strangers' reunion Truffle Fries with Truffle Aioli & Parmesan Cheese

strangers-reunion tlbs

stranger-reunion16 - tlbs

stranger-reunion - keith and kristen

Overall, I don’t think I’m particularly impressed with the fare. If I had wanted to visit a cafe that’s out of the way, I would want it to be less crowded so I can really chill out quietly with my friends or read a book over coffee if I visit on an off day from work. It just doesn’t feel as relaxing sitting around when you know there’s a long queue waiting for your table.

But that’s just me. Some people may find the vibrancy very appealing. It’s after all staffed with young, stylish people, who are serving young, stylish people, and you may enjoy such an ambience.

What’s good though, is that service is pretty prompt. Considering the busy crowd they have to serve, I think it’s quite a feat that they didn’t screw up. Food was served promptly, and the staff looks like they’re in control and very relaxed despite the rush.

Strangers’ Reunion is located at 33/35/37 Kampong Bahru Rd. It opens daily from 9am to 10pm, but is closed on Tuesdays.

One thought on “Review: Strangers Reunion

Leave a Reply

