YSL Beaute Rouge Volupte Shine: Review

Let’s just say it’s love at first sight. The moment I cast my eyes on the new YSL Rouge Volupte Shine, I knew I was in love. And I haven’t felt like this in the longest time.

Let’s talk about its beautiful packaging first: The sleek, gold exterior, with exquisite cut-out design of the YSL logo at the centre just in front of a coloured strip that indicates the colour of the lipstick.

ysl rouge volupte shine

Opening up the caps. I see glossy bullets peeking out, looking more like gems than lipsticks. In fact, they remind me of the YSL Arty Rings. At this point, I swooned.

ysl beaute rouge volupte shine

But we know looks aren’t going to sustain love. And so I tried the lipsticks on. These are the five I have been sent:

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #12

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #12

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #3

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #3

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #19

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #19

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #13

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #13

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #6

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #6

 

And of all the five colours I’ve tried, my favourite is probably in #6. Here are more photos of me wearing it:

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine #6

The colours are very vibrant – not quite as intimidating as they look from the bullet but saturated enough. What surprised me more is that it is extremely glossy and moisturising. My experience with bold lipsticks (which I love) so far is that they tend to be a little more drying on the lips. But this one feels almost like a lip balm. It goes on very smoothly, and hardly dries the lips. The pink ones, especially, are very hydrating, while the purple ones can dry out my lips a bit by midday.

The fruity scents that the lipsticks come with also add a nice touch to the overall user experience.

I’ve received a lot of compliments whenever I wear this and I have been carrying two lipsticks (one pink, one purple) around in my work bag everyday, just in case I need to transit to a more glamorous look in the evening, or if I need an extra pop of colour to brighten up my look.

Only complaint about the Rouge Volupte Shine is that it isn’t exactly long-lasting. It cleans off easily, and you need constant reapplication. But if you ask me to choose among colour payoff, hydration and lasting colour, I’d rather sacrifice the lasting portion. Reapplication isn’t that much of a problem. I kind of like whipping out the gorgeous lipstick to do touch-ups anyway!

This is already available at YSL boutiques and retails at S$45 each. There are 19 gorgeous shades for you to choose from.

4 thoughts on “YSL Beaute Rouge Volupte Shine: Review

Leave a Reply

