Pedi:Mani:Cure Studio by Bastien Gonzalez at Remède Spa: Review

The last time I visited Remède Spa at St. Regis Singapore for the Body Revival Treatment, I was told by the hotel’s PR manager that I have to return again to try its very-special pedicure. It’s set up by Bastien Gonzalez and is his only address in Asia.

Now, I tried a number of pedicure, so it made me really curious what’s so special about this one. I was really excited when I was invited to try out the Bastien’s Pedicure for myself this time.

Bastien gonzalez

This is Bastien!

The entire ritual was designed by international pedicurist Bastien Gonzalez, and administered by Steve Desobeau, the Studio Manager here. (Did I mention that Steve is a total hottie?)

Did it work? 

The seat that I was ushered to looks nothing like the others I’ve sat on during pedicures. There are no basins on the floor for me to soak my feet in. In fact, the seat reminds me slightly of the chair you see when you visit the dentist. Then, next to Steve was tools such as scalpel, lancet, drill and razors all lined up neatly. I later found out that they were also sterilised with medical-grade machines.

Steve told me that unlike other pedicures that I might be more familiar with, this is a “dry” pedicure. First my cuticles were treated to. Using a tool, he removed the cuticle that are on top of the nails. Note that he doesn’t push back cuticles and cut them away as most pedicurists would or trim the “cuticles” at the sides of the nails (he said that those aren’t actually cuticles). He said that the method of trimming that we are more familiar with actually can potentially damage the nail bed because cuticles help protect it.

He then proceeded to remove the top layer of the nails using a buff, and also polish the nails until it shone. My nails were not coloured at all (because chemicals from nail polish are bad for us, we probably already know that) and anyway, after seeing how my nails shone naturally, I wouldn’t like to have nail polish to cover them.

Later, Steve used a razor to skilfully remove dead skin from my feet. I was at first intimidated by the use of razor, however, because Steve knows exactly what he’s doing and he only touched the dead skin, there was no pain at all.

Finally, Steve turned down the lights and proceeded with a massage. This helps to improve blood circulation so fatigue on the feet can go away. He finished the ritual by powdering my feet to keep it dry and comfortable.

bastien's pedicure remede spa

I walked out of the studio with nails smooth and polished – I might have mistaken them for top-grade marble. The massage that wrapped up the treatment also took away the fatigue accumulated by the constant wear of high heels. I’m ready for open-toed shoes for the whole of this month!

Verdict

5 loves
Now, I have never, ever given out full marks before. But this one really leaves nothing to complain about. I’m super impressed.

Mani:Pedi:Cure Studio by Bastien Gonzalez is located at The Remède Spa at The St. Regis Singapore, 29 Tanglin Road. Tel: 6506-6888. Bastien’s Pedicure is available at $180.

 

4 thoughts on “Pedi:Mani:Cure Studio by Bastien Gonzalez at Remède Spa: Review

Leave a Reply

