Men and Women Perceive Beauty Differently

8 Oct

I’ve always believed that men and women have differences in what they consider attractive. The genesis of this theory is owing to my female friends commenting on whether a particular girl is attractive or not, and most of the time, my male friends and I disagree with them. So I decided to test my theory with Juliet. Here’s a list of female celebrities we used to test my theory.

Katy Perry.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: No

Kirsten Dunst.

Juliet: No

Keith: No

Liv Tyler.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: Yes

Kim Kardashian.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: Yes

Cameron Diaz.

Juliet: No

Keith: No

Kristen Stewart.

Juliet: No

Keith: No

Alyssa Milano.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: Yes

Scarlett Johansson.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: Yes

Eva Mendes.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: Yes

Selena Gomez.

Juliet: No

Keith: Yes

Eva Longoria.

Juliet: No

Keith: Yes

Angelina Jolie.

Juliet: No

Keith: No

Zhang Ziyi.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: No

Vicki Zhao.

Juliet: No

Keith: No

Jolin Tsai.

Juliet: No

Keith: Yes

Shuqi.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: No

Gongli.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: No

By2.

Juliet: No

Keith: Yes

Ann Kok.

Juliet: No

Keith: Yes

Verdict: 10 agreements, 9 disagreements

I think it is difficult to compare celebrities since most of them are rather attractive. Initially I wanted to compare normal people on the streets, and I think if I were to do that, you will see more differences. The biggest telling difference I believe, is that local men think “ah lians” are attractive while our female counterparts don’t feel so.

Then again, beauty lies in the eye of the beholder and should never be just skin-deep. External beauty needs money to maintain, internal beauty doesn’t. To end off this entry, I’m glad that Juliet and I agree on this:

Kristen Juliet Soh.

Juliet: Yes

Keith: Yes

###

Kristen says:

Do your answers align more with mine or Keith’s? Let us know in the comment box!

P/S: Keith calls me “Juliet” instead of “Kristen”.
P/P/S: Keith is also known as the Beauty Blogger’s Boyfriend (BBB) – in other words, my beau lah! (Using lah is good right? Coz men like ah lian.)
P/P/P/S: No wonder Juliet keeps using “lah” nowadays

2 Responses to “Men and Women Perceive Beauty Differently”

  1. louisa October 11, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    Angelina Jolie gets a no from both man and woman?

    I think u need another sample batch.

    • Kristen October 11, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      I think the beauty – no pun intended – of this exercise is that, perhaps it’s not even about men vs women, but that everyone has a different yardstick for their perception of beauty!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,106 other followers

